On The Road Again

Its been a while since I’ve found myself in this position… Actually, come to think of it, I dont know that I have ever been in this position before. No, Im not talking about “reverse cowgirl” or the mysterious “alaskan pipeline” I’m talking about joblessness. I was recently “let go” from my position as an Executive Chef. Being “let go” sounds so much better than being fired. Its like I was an endangered animal, rescued from an oil slick, nursed back to health, then set free in my natural habitat. As opposed to being told “yeah, we know youve worked here longer than any other manager, and during your tenure you’ve managed to retain more residents than any other chef, but all that aside, we dont think its working out.” It begs the question: why didnt they get rid of me when I was the guy who showed up drunk and or hung over every day? I would have found more comfort in getting fired when I was the guy doing lines off the back of the toilet, as opposed to the upstanding, sober member of society I am today. 

I’m not bitter… maybe a little hurt. Definitely scared. But overall… Im ok. Thats been the theme of my life lately. Despite circumstances that would lead most people to get a little concerned… maybe go a little crazy… maybe even start plotting the demise of those responsible.. I feel alright about the situation. I’ve missed more classes this semester than any other because of this job. Ive had to sit out of family functions because it interferes with events at work. And Ive been desperately seeking an opportunity to learn some new skills in the culinary industry. I think this is god’s less than subtle way of telling me I need to get moving. I didnt want to be slinging oatmeal for the rest of my life anyway. 

 

 

Leave a comment